The Burnt Hills Oratorio Society (BHOS), under the direction of Dr. William Jon Gray, will hold its 24th annual vocal scholarship competition for high school seniors.  Two scholarships will be awarded.  The first-place winner will receive a $1500 scholarship and the second place winner will receive a $1000 scholarship.  Applicants need not be planning a career in music, but the scholarships are intended to facilitate the continued study of singing in college. The two winners shall provide the Burnt Hills Oratorio Society the address of the college or university program to which they have been accepted.  The scholarships will be forwarded, in their names, directly to the institutions.

To be eligible, all candidates must complete an application form by downloading the form and submit by mail or email to the address below.

Susanne Margono
187 Grand Avenue,
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
(518) 584-0402


Auditions will be held on Friday, June 18, 2021 at St. Clement’s Church, 231 Lake Avenue, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866 from 3 to 5 PM.

Two works are to be prepared: one from the current NYSSMA Manual levels 4, 5, or 6; the other of the student’s choosing.  Applicants must provide their own accompanist.  Taped accompaniments are not allowed.

For further information, please contact Mrs. Margono at the address listed above.

Read Saratogian article about the BHOS Vocal Scholarship Competition.

Award Winners

Zachary Simpson 2020
Alexa Rahman 2020
Sophie Mathis 2019
Abigail Evans 2019
Phoebe Reuther 2018
Nicholas Conti 2018
Alicia Esposito 2017
Marissa Scotti 2017
Kaeli Heffner 2016
Marissa Scotti 2016
Emily Martin 2015
Jacob O’Shea 2015
Ashley Marie Rickson 2014
Nicole Rizzo 2014
Joseph Davila 2013
Lauren Silberstein 2013
Rebecca Iris Rogers 2012
Alexandra Rizzo 2012
Dan Lyng 2011
Kara Cregin 2011
Margaret VanNorden 2010
John Leighton 2010
Margaret Flanigan 2009
Sean Teeter 2009
Rhiannon LaCrosse 2008
Siddharth Dubey 2008
Laura MacAvoy 2007
Alexander Turpin 2007
Emily Foster 2006
Leila Gheiter 2006
Trevor Strader 2005
Mary Kate vom Lehn 2005
Elizabeth Picker 2004
Jesse Conti 2004
Peter Marler 2003
Julie Norman 2003
Emalie Savoy 2002
Hannah Lewis 2002
Julie Giguere 2001
Joanna Koslowsky 2001
Laura Puzio 2000
Patrice Godshalk 2000
McCaela Curran 1999
Laura Longe 1999
John Bragle 1998
Rebecca Minor 1998

Click here to read about our previous Vocal Scholarship Award winners.